National Arable and Grassland Awards finalists announced

LinkedIn +

With the awarding ceremony just two months away we are excited to announce the finalists of the National Arable and Grassland Awards.

All our esteemed judging panel agreed that the quality of the entries this year was exceptional, making it incredibly difficult to narrow each category to just three. It’s a testament to the innovation, hard work and stewardship that goes on within the industry. Any one of the entries would have made an excellent finalist and acted as a benchmark for others in their sector.

But without further ado, the finalists for the National Arable and Grassland Awards 2024 are:

Agronomist of the Year

  • Ben Burrows (Crop Management Partners)
  • Neil Harper (Agrii)
  • Richard Butler (Agrii)

Cereal Grower of the Year

  • EJ Barker & Sons
  • JC Bell
  • Revesby Estate

Contractor of the Year – Sponsored by Profitable Farming Company (PFC)

  • AJ Heywood & Sons
  • Martin Hays Contracting
  • Glover Agricultural Contractors

Farm Manager of the Year – Sponsored by Househam Sprayers

  • Simon Andrews (Porchester Farms)
  • Richard Cross (Oxton Estate)
  • Jake Freestone (Overbury Enterprises)

Fruit Grower of the Year

  • Clock House Farm
  • Plumford Farms
  • Rectory Farm

Grassland Manager of the Year  Sponsored by Omex

  • Andrew and Kirstie Baird (JP Baird)
  • Geoff Homer (Homer Farming)
  • Owain and Aled Rees (Treclyn – Isaf Farm)

Oilseed Grower of the Year – Sponsored by Premium Crops

  • Sanderson & Sons/Stainswick Farm Oil
  • R and L Anthony
  • FRW Farrington and Son

Potato Grower of the Year – Sponsored by FMC

  • David Armstrong Farms
  • Robert Lindley
  • AH Worth

Protein Crop Grower of the Year – Sponsored by Limagrain

  • Bell Farm Docking
  • AS Thornton & Son
  • AJ Alexander and Son

Sustainable Farming Award – Sponsored by QLF Agronomy

  • FG Brewer
  • East Lothian Produce
  • Mee Farmers

Vegetable Grower of the Year

  • Cambs Farm Growers
  • Home Farm Nacton
  • Pollybell Farms

Young Agronomist of the Year – Sponsored by UPL

  • Fraser Hill (Premium Crops)
  • Morven Anderson (HL Hutchinsons)
  • Todd Jex (Agrii)

Young Farmer of the Year

  • Eleanor Gilbert (Rookery Farms – FC Cummins & Sons)
  • Hayley Graham (David Armstrong Farms)
  • Mike Wilkins (G & SM Wilkins & Son)

On the night, one of the winners of the six growing categories will be announced as the overall Grower of the Year, representing the cream of the crop regarding the entries we received.

There will also be the Lifetime Achievement Award, given to a key figure in the industry who has worked tirelessly to promote and improve the sector.

The judging panel

The National Arable and Grassland Awards would not be possible without our panel of judges, who use their industry expertise to pick out the best from our raft of entries.

  • Meurig Raymond, head judge and former NFU president
  • Jill Hewitt, chief executive of the National Association of Agricultural Contractors
  • Andrew Lazenby, CEO of BASIS
  • Richard Laurence, editor of Agronomist & Arable Farmer
  • Matthew Tilt, machinery editor of Farm Contractor & Large Scale Farmer
  • Andrew Meredith, editor of Farmers Weekly

It is not too late to get involved. Tickets are available now for the National Arable and Grassland Awards, taking place at the Hilton London Bankside on the 7th of February 2024 and including a three-course meal and entertainment until the early hours.

Tickets are available at, priced at £210 (+ VAT) per person, or £1,890 (+ VAT) for a table holding a maximum of ten people

Share this story:

About Author