New awards to showcase best of arable and grassland sectors

LinkedIn +

Agronomist & Arable Farmer and Farm Contractor & Large Scale Farmer, in association with BASIS, have established a prestigious new awards event – the National Arable and Grassland Awards.

The awards will recognise the UK’s fantastic growers and agronomists, highlighting their achievements in key areas of crop production, land management, environmental responsibility and innovation.

The National Arable and Grassland Awards are now open for entries, with the winners, we are delighted to confirm, to be unveiled at an in-person lavish ceremony at a prestigious location in London next February. After the last year and half that we have all been through, it will certainly be a great feeling to celebrate in person with the very best in the industry.

The awards, will showcase the very best that that the arable and grassland sectors have to offer and aim to encourage the industry on to greater and higher achievements in the coming years as it faces a time of unprecedented change.

The categories will cover a wide spectrum of the industry and will include:

  • Fruit Grower of the year
  • Vegetable Grower of the year
  • Oilseed Grower of the year
  • Potato Grower of the year
  • Protein Crop Grower of the year,
  • Cereal Grower of the year, and
  • Grassland grower of the year

The winners of all these categories will be entered automatically into the Grower of the Year award, which will be won by the person who can demonstrate that they are constantly at the forefront of utilising and developing technological developments and innovations. The winner will the champion of champions.

Other categories will include:

  • Farm Contractor of Year
  • Agronomist of the Year
  • Young Agronomist of the Year,
  • Young Farmer of the Year, and
  • Farm Manager of the Year.

The winners of these awards will have demonstrated a contribution and commitment to the industry and the ability to work through all the challenges that will face the industry in the coming years.

Finally, there will be a Lifetime Achievement award, which will be given to someone at the judges discretion who has been a champion of the industry and has consistently gone the extra mile for the greater good.

Judges for the individual competitions will be key personalities from the industry who will have an in-depth knowledge of what it takes to be a winner in the various categories.

The first judge to be announced is Stephen Jacob, BASIS CEO, who said: “It’s an honour to be associated with, and be part of the judging panel for the National Arable and Grassland Awards. At a time of great change and uncertainty in agriculture, I feel it’s important to celebrate successes, so I’m very much looking forward to reviewing the entries.

“I’ll be looking out for those who have worked to develop their careers through education and training, as well as those making a concerted effort to focus on environmental practices,”

The other judges will be announced over the coming weeks.

Agronomist and Arable Farmer and Farm Contractor & Large Scale Farmer publisher Simon Lewis, said: “I am delighted to bring these awards to the market. It’s an opportunity to celebrate the excellent work that farmers, landowners and contractors do year in, year out and will foster innovation and encourage a can do attitude across the sector.”

For more information go to:


Share this story:

About Author